Search here...
TOP
Beauty Reviews

REVIEW: L’Oreal Blemish Rescue Clay Mask

L'Oreal Blemish Rescue Pure Clay mask review

When I was a young’un with bad skin problems, I used to think “when I get out of my teenage years, I’ll have good skin”. My mother has been blessed with amazing skin, and so I guess I believed I’d follow suit. Yet, here I was with just over a week to go until my 21st and therefore multiple nights out, with quite possibly the worst complexion I’ve had in months. Not fair.

 

Here’s a visual representation (enjoy my funky pyjamas throughout also):

Screen Shot 2017-10-14 at 02.42.53.png

 

Actually, no, I was angrier than that:

Screen Shot 2017-10-14 at 02.44.49.png

 

You can’t see absolutely everything wrong in the photos, but I had so many bad patches all over, and no amount of makeup would hide it. Taking to Superdrug to try and find… well, a miracle, really, I decided to look for the L’Oreal Pure Clay mask range. I’d already tried the Glow, Purity and Detox varieties and found that they did wonders, but I spotted two new kinds: Bright, a yellow-gold colour, and Blemish Rescue, a blue colour. Anything offering a “rescue” was already a winner for me, so I picked up the latter for £6.

I’m a huge fan of the Pure Clay products; besides providing decent results for my skin, they also smell soooo good, and they’re incredibly creamy and soft. But this one… can we just talk about this colour for a second?

 

Screen Shot 2017-10-14 at 02.33.29.png

 

HOW PRETTY IS THAT!? I was reluctant to scoop some out and ruin it. Nevertheless, I was still on my rescue mission, so I had to.

 

Screen Shot 2017-10-14 at 02.30.29.png

 

I feel like as far as initial reactions go, this one is pretty self-explanatory. As hard as I tried, no light would do the IRL colour justice in any photos I took, but I did look like a Smurf. Or remember that scene in Charlie and the Chocolate factory where Violet turns into a blueberry? Yeah, it was blue. It was very blue.

 

(No idea why the second photo ended up brighter, btw)

I embraced the look after my initial shock, and waited for the 10 minutes I usually allow for these masks to pass. One thing I noticed with this version of the masks was that my skin didn’t feel like it was reacting to the product; with the others, I tend to feel a slight “tingle” sensation after applying – albeit it never shows physically afterwards. I was so happy with this because I always fear for my overly-sensitive skin whenever it happens! In addition, the smoothness of the mask when applying was a big plus, as well as the fact that I only needed to use a tiny amount to do so – fab when the pot is already a generous enough size for the price!

Reaching the 10 minute mark, the mask had dried and was ready to be washed off. I did this by using a Liz Earle muslin cloth to gently wipe it off with warm water; admittedly, this did take a little more effort than normal as there was a slight blue tinge left at first. My skin was already feeling 10x cleaner at this point!

So, I know you can’t expect too big a difference in such a short space of time… but this was my skin two days later, this morning (ignore my tired face haha):

 

FullSizeRender 20

 

It’s obviously not 100% perfect just yet, but I’m so much happier with how it looks! Again, you can’t see much of what I can from the photos, but my face feels a lot smoother and softer today. Most of the blemishes I had around my cheeks have disappeared, and I feel like it looks more vibrant than it did before. It just feels waaay cleaner!

It’s recommended that the mask is used two times a week – with results like these after two days, I’m feeling confident that I’ll be happy enough to take photos at my parties!

whathannahwrote

«

»

14 COMMENTS

  • Ana

    does this work on sensitive skin? please reply as I have purchased one but not sure if it will help my skin or irritate it?

    • whathannahwrote
      AUTHOR

      Hi! I’m so sorry, I didn’t see this till now – it worked fine on mine and I have eczema, but I would test it on a little patch first just in case! Can never be too careful x

  • ELLIE

    I love face masks, this sounds great! You have amazing skin!
    My recent post: https://lifeofellabella.blogspot.com/2019/01/how-to-keep-fit-and-motivated.html

  • Lucy Alice

    I use these too !!! They’re amazing aren’t they 🙂 love your review, I also hoped my skin would clean up in my 20s not happened fully let however have a look at the ordenery, there skin care is the best and has changed everything for me, might help you

    • whathannahwrote
      AUTHOR

      I’ve heard a lot about them! Definitely need to give it a try, thanks for the suggestion! X

  • I love a good face mask! The fact that it’s blue just makes it more fun (btw that shade of blue is gorgeous!) and your skin does look so much better on the last photo!! xx

    DreamsAndLashes.com

    • whathannahwrote
      AUTHOR

      The blue colour definitely made me want to buy it more hahaha! Freaks out people in my flat when I wander about with a blue face unexpectedly of course… xx

  • molliewesthead

    Great review, I haven’t tried this one yet but I love the Detox mask! X

    • whathannahwrote
      AUTHOR

      The Detox one was what got me into them in the first place! They’re so worth trying! x

  • Corinne and Kirsty

    We can clearly see the difference before/after. Looks so good! I had heard positive things about the mask and defo want to try it now! xx corinne

    • whathannahwrote
      AUTHOR

      Definitely try it! I don’t often buy into these things, but even my flatmate couldn’t believe the difference in her complexion for the following days after trying it! xx

  • rachaelstray

    You can absolutely see a difference. Thanks for such an honest review. I think when the weather turns colder and the central heating goes on it plays havoc with your skin so having some rescue products like this is crucial x

    • whathannahwrote
      AUTHOR

      That’s definitely been an issue! Plus general uni-related stress hahaha. It’s really helped! x

Leave a Reply

Follow @whathannahwrote

This error message is only visible to WordPress admins

Error: The account for whathannahwrote needs to be reconnected.
Due to recent Instagram platform changes this Instagram account needs to be reconnected in order to continue updating. Reconnect on plugin Settings page

Error: No posts found.

Make sure this account has posts available on instagram.com.